1st Abortion Day of 2009 (Updated)

1st_abortion_day_2009

On what ended up being a strange and emotional day, we had an estimated 22 abortions for the 1st abortion day of 2009  .  The day, which started with a strange fog that continuously ebbed and flowed throughout the morning hours, brought with it an unusually high amount of Planned Parenthood consumers who chose to share their stories and emotions.

There was a gentleman who asked us what we would do if  one of our daughters were raped. He was informed that despite the theory of  an abortion some how helping rape victims, it has been shown that abortion actually adds to the trauma of the rape.

There was a mother who brought her daughter to Planned Parenthood to get “a pill”,  because she was “only” 4 weeks pregnant. The mother opposed surgical abortions and considered them morally wrong, but believed RU-486 was like taking a contraceptive, not an abortion. She spent a good deal of time with our side walk counselors who shared information on the stages of child development and RU-486 abortions.

A gentleman spent time with several of our counselors explaining how his wife,  who came from a family with 19 children, demanded getting her 4th abortion so she could complete medical school. Initially this man was argumentative and oppositional with our counselors, but ended up crying about his wife’s decision to abort and took the information offered to him.

So many different stories and reasons for abortion, all of which took precedence over the right to life of the most innocent of all human beings. We have more stories and video interviews to share for a different time.  God bless all of you who support the pro-life efforts any way you can.

We are adding the testimony of Christina who goes into much more detail of the above events, as well as providing a personal testimony of why she chooses to go out to the sidewalk of Planned Parenthood.

Saturday was a rough day but the hope that maybe, just maybe we saved one baby keeps me going. I had an extensive conversation with a mother, who’s daughter was in the clinic. She told me how she regretted having an abortion years ago. She was very young and afraid to tell her mother. I could relate, as I have a young daughter, who faced the same situation. Thankfully, despite my daughter’s fear she chose to have her baby. The result is our beautiful grandson who we absolutely adore.

I pleaded with the mother at the sidewalk, to the point of begging her to go in and get her daughter. I told her that was her grandchild that her daughter was carrying. She had a very important question for me, “When does “it” become a baby?” Thankfully, Amber was there to tell her the baby (at four weeks) already had a heartbeat. She was taken back by this and it really made her think about what was truly happening. I pray that my words and Amber’s words touched this mother. I pray that her daughter will choose not to take the “abortion pill”. I pray that it wasn’t too late to save this young women’s child.

Another challenge my husband and I faced that day was with a young man who had brought a rape victim to the clinic. He came straight to me and asked, “How would you feel if someone violently raped someone you care about?” I told him my daughter was sexually assaulted and I understood that she was in pain. I showed him a picture of my daughter and my grandson. His tone changed from anger to curiosity. I talked with him about my daughter. I told him how much my daughter loves her son and that each day she wakes up and is thankful for him. Despite all of the pain she suffered she would do it all again to have her beautiful son. I continued on and kept his attention. My husband added in that we were not there to judge but to speak for the babies who’s voices can’t be heard. He explained to him that each child is a miracle and blessing from God.

By the end of our conversation with this young man I explained to him that the young woman who was having the abortion would need help. I gave him a pamphlet about Post Abortion Syndrome and he eagerly took it. I told him her pain would not be over because the pregnancy was terminated. I told him that she would feel a great loss and an emptiness. I informed him of some of the symptoms of post abortion syndrome and asked him to please make sure she got counseling. So I pray that this young man will get her the help that she will need. It would be a tragedy if two lives were destroyed.

Please pray for these young people and always remember to keep your hearts open to hear the pain that others are suffering. Compassion should be a priority when dealing with others. Each of us has our own testimonies and that is why God has put us on the Babcock sidewalk. We are fulfilling God’s purpose for us. To show others of his unconditional love.

Thanks to Christina  for her selfless efforts for the unborn and their parents on Saturday.

One response to “1st Abortion Day of 2009 (Updated)

  1. Saturday was a rough day but the hope that maybe, just maybe we saved one baby keeps me going. I had an extensive conversation with a mother, who’s daughter was in the clinic.She told me how she regreted having an abortion years ago. She was very young and afraid to tell her mother. I could relate, as I have a young daughter, who faced the same situation. Thankfully, despite my daughter’s fear she chose to have her baby. The result is our beautiful grandson who we absolutely adore.
    I pleaded with the mother at the sidewalk, to the point of begging her to go in and get her daughter. I told her that was her grandchild that her daughter was carrying. She had a very important question for me, “When does “it” become a baby?” Thankfully, Amber was there to tell her the baby (at four weeks) already had a heartbeat. She was taken back by this and it really made her think about what was truly happening. I pray that my words and Amber’s words touched this mother. I pray that her daughter will choose not to take the “abortion pill”. I pray that it wasn’t too late to save this young women’s child.
    Another challenge my husband and I faced that day was with a young man who had brought a rape victim to the clinic. He came straight to me and asked, “How would you feel if someone violently raped someone you care about?” I told him my daughter was sexually assaulted and I understood that she was in pain. I showed him a picture of my daughter and my grandson. His tone changed from anger to curiousity. I talked with him about my daughter. I told him how much my daughter loves her son and that each day she wakes up and is thankful for him. Despite all of the pain she suffered she would do it all again to have her beautiful son. I continued on and kept his attention. My husband added in that we were not there to judge but to speak for the babies who’s voices can’t be heard. He explained to him that each child is a miracle and blessing from God. By the end of our conversation with this young man I explained to him that the young woman who was having the abortion would need help. I gave him a pamphlet about Post Abortion Syndrome and he eagerly took it. I told him her pain would not be over because the pregnancy was terminated. I told him that she would feel a great loss and an emptiness. I informed him of some of the symptoms of post abortion syndrome and asked him to please make sure she got counseling. So I pray that this young man will get her the help that she will need. It would be a tragedy if two lives were destroyed.
    Please pray for these young people and always remember to keep your hearts open to hear the pain that others are suffering. Compassion should be a priority when dealing with others. Each of us has our own testimonies and that is why God has put us on the Babcock sidewalk. We are fulfilling God’s purpose for us. To show others of his unconditional love.

Leave a Reply

